Kynžvart Castle is only 10 km from Mariánské Lázně and 150 km from Prague. The castle is open from April to October, every day except Mondays from 9 am to 12 pm and from 1 pm to 5 pm (until 4 pm in winter).
The history of Kynžvart Castle dates back to the beginning of the 13th century. Originally built as a fortified castle for King Přemysl Otakar, it was renovated in the 18th century by the architect Pietro Mobile.
The castle displays a spectacular number of objects related to Napoleon Bonaparte. Indeed, the castle had once belonged to Chancellor Metternich, who had been the intermediary during Napoleon and Marie-Louise’s wedding. Visitors can see, among other things, a medallion containing a tuft of Napoleon’s hair.
And this is not the only unique sight! The Cabinet of Curiosities contains more than 2000 strange and unusual objects, such as the gloves of Emperor Maximilian of Mexico or a posthumous cast of the right hand of Alexandre Dumas. There are also many presents given by the Egyptian Viceroy to Chancellor Metternich in 1828. Among the castle’s other treasures, there is a beautiful collection of weapons dating from the 16th century.
The castle's library (one of the largest in the country) contains almost 24,000 books, including a fragment of the Old Testament dating to the late 8th century. In the 300m² English Park which surrounds the castle, visitors can admire 10 ponds and many romantic buildings, such as a mill dating from the end of the 18th century.